2017-18 Lloyd W. Jones Scholarship

2017-18 Nomination Period Now Open!

Nomination Form Here

 The Maryland GFOA Executive Committee at its regular meeting on May 2, 1997, approved the establishment of the Lloyd W. Jones Memorial Scholarship Fund.

Lloyd Jones was a past president of the Maryland GFOA and held vital City, County and State finance posts in addition to the many other organizations which he served as a volunteer. He was a most exemplary public servant in his positions as Director of the Maryland Deposit Insurance Fund, Director of the Department of Assessments and Taxation, Director of the Maryland Lottery, Chief Accountant for Baltimore City and Director of Finance of Carroll County.
To honor Lloyd and the principles he stood for, Maryland GFOA annually awards a scholarship grant to a government employee to attend the MDGFOA Summer Conference who otherwise would not be eligible to attend at their employer’s expense.

The scholarship consists of free conference registration and room plus $200 to help defray the cost of attending the conference. It also includes a one-year membership in the MDGFOA.

To be eligible, nominees must be employed by the State or a local government in the practice of governmental financial management, who have made an outstanding contribution to their organization in the performance of their duties during the past year. Nominations may be made by any Active Member, with the final selection by the Maryland GFOA Executive Board.

If you would like to contribute to the Fund to help perpetuate this scholarship opportunity, please send your check payable to “Maryland GFOA—Lloyd W. Jones Memorial Scholarship Fund” to:
Maryland GFOA
626C Admiral Drive
Suite 723
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

The Maryland GFOA is an IRC 501 c (6) organization. Contributions to the Fund may be deductible as a charitable contribution. Check with your tax advisor.

If you would like to submit a nomination, please complete the Lloyd W. Jones Scholarship Form.


Phil Smith, Montgomery County
Jonathan Kugel, Montgomery County
Natalie Selah, Town of Berlin
Nikki Hogue, Howard County
Sarah J. Seidl, Howard County
Dongmei Le, CPA, CPFO, Montgomery County