Lloyd W. Jones Scholarship

The Maryland GFOA Executive Committee at its regular meeting on May 2, 1997, approved the establishment of the Lloyd W. Jones Memorial Scholarship Fund.

Lloyd Jones was a past president of the Maryland GFOA and held vital City, County and State finance posts in addition to the many other organizations which he served as a volunteer. He was a most exemplary public servant in his positions as Director of the Maryland Deposit Insurance Fund, Director of the Department of Assessments and Taxation, Director of the Maryland Lottery, Chief Accountant for Baltimore City and Director of Finance of Carroll County. To honor Lloyd and the principles he stood for, Maryland GFOA annually awards a scholarship grant to a government employee to attend the MDGFOA Summer Conference who otherwise would not be eligible to attend at their employer’s expense.

The scholarship consists of one Annual Summer Conference registration with two-night, standard accommodations at the Conference Hotel,  plus $200 to help defray the cost of attending the conference. It also includes a one-year membership in the MDGFOA. The award items are subject to change.

To be eligible, nominees must be employed by the State or a local government in the practice of governmental financial management, who have made an outstanding contribution to their organization in the performance of their duties during the past year. Nominations may be made by any Active Member, with the final selection by the Maryland GFOA Executive Board.


The scholarship nomination process is closed for 2024.

Scholarship Recipients

2024- Chihyu (Anne) Shen – Montgomery County

2023 - D. Chris Cooper – Carroll County

2022 - Dejuan D. Shambley – Prince George’s County

2021- Tara Pouncy, Harford County

2020- Lauren Bierly- Montgomery County

2019- Jiaojiao Gu- Montgomery County

2018- Lisa Sesny, Montgomery County

2017- Dongmei Li, Montgomery County

2016- Phil Smith, Montgomery County

2015- Natalie Saleh, Town of Berlin

Website Sponsored by: